

Board of Directors

Mahlon Mitchell
Chairman

Steve Wilding Vice Chairman

Michael Woodzicka PFFW Vice President

Michael DeGarmo Racine Fire Department

Matt Simpson Janesville F.D. (ret.)

Dave Bosanko Retired PFFW

Jim Hirsch Paul Davis Restoration

Scott Hall Milwaukee L215

Cynthia Brun UW-Oshkosh

Emily Rauber Brewhouse Inn & Suites

Jason Perkiser Hawks and Quindel, S.C.

Staff

Michael J. Wos Executive Director

Aine King Program Coordinator

Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin Charitable Foundation

PRESS RELEASE

February 26th, 2021

2020 FIRE SAFETY NEWSPAPERS IN EDUCATION AND

2020 FIRE SAFETY RECOGNITION LUNCHEON AWARDS

The Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin Charitable Foundation is an independent self-supporting 501(c)(3) public charity serving as a champion for burn survivors, fire fighters, and safe communities all across Wisconsin. The Fire Fighters Foundation impacts everyone in Wisconsin whether through their fire safety and burn prevention initiatives or through their work to support fire fighters and their families during times of need. Obviously, their goal is to prevent fires and burns from happening at all. However, when a burn injury does occur, they are there to provide meaningful support to burn survivors of all ages and in all stages of recovery. The Fire Fighters Foundation is no different than any person, business, or organization affected by COVID-19 and subsequently had to cancel or postpone multiple programming and fundraising events in 2020. In 2021, the organization continues to pivot and make an impact.

Almost a half-millon print copies of the 23rd Annual Fire Safety Newspapers in Education Program were developed and distributed by the Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin Charitable Foundation to schools, fire departments, and community organizations last October to commence National Fire Prevention week in Wisconsin. Within the newspaper is a fire safety student poster and teacher essay contest. Every October is when the organization also recognizes fire safety, burn prevention, and service excellence at their Annual Fire Safety Recognition Luncheon. Last October would have been a 30-year milestone for the luncheon.

Today, 30 students, 11 teachers, 7 volunteers, and 6 awardees were announced via Zoom and will soon be presented with awards, framed posters, plaques, and more than \$7,500.00 in cash prizes. "This is a highlight every year for us," said Michael Wos, Executive Director of the Fire Fighters Foundation. "Seeing kids, teachers, and supporters that make a difference is what keeps us going day after day." The annual newspaper is printed by the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel but is developed inhouse with content obtained from some of the best fire safety and burn prevention organizations in the country. "We've seen a sharp increase in fire deaths, injuries, and burns this year," said Aine King, Program Coordinator with the Fire Fighters Foundation. "Fire deaths, injuries, and burns were all at an 8-year high last year. Fire safety and burn prevention is more important than ever, and we are proud to showcase our programming and recognize individuals and organizations for all their hard work and support." The Fire Fighters Foundation plans on presenting the awards in person as soon as everyone is comfortable and will formally recognize everyone the next time, they are able to host a gathering.

(Listing of all awardees is on back)

MEDIA CONTACT:

Michael J. Wos, Executive Director (414) 430-3697 Mike@pffwcf.org

Programming Contact:

Aine King, Program Coordinator (608) 630-8440 Aine@pffwcf.org

2020 Fire Safety Newspapers in Education - 23rd Annual Edition (www.pffwcf.org/FireSafety)

A video of today's program can be found at:

https://pffwcf.sharepoint.com/:v:/g/ESzmSxKlcnlLqMfsx864GCcBzD8aSgkxoK4Q_bsHWK-bEg

Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin Charitable Foundation 23rd Annual Fire Safety Newspapers in Education 2020 Fire Safety Poster Contest Awards

1" Grade

3rd place - Violet Kaufman, St John Lutheran, Berlin

2nd place - Evelyn Steffes, Winneconne Elementary, Winneconne

1st place - Evelyn Corey, Eagle Elementary, Eagle

2nd Grade

3rd place - Jon Bruss, St John Lutheran, Berlin

2nd place - Alayna Heiden, Allenton Elementary, Allenton

1st place - Adam Darelius, St. Jacobi Lutheran School, Greenfield

3rd Grade

3rd place - Brady VanHandel, St. John's, Little Chute

2nd place - Ellie Vogelman, St. Matthews, Oak Creek

1st place - Grace Heus, St. Gabriel, Hubertus

4th Grade

 3^{nd} place - Ashlynn Dunn, St Gabriel, Hubertus

 $2^{\mbox{\tiny nd}}$ place - Avery M, Wonewoc-Center Elementary, Wonewoc

1st place - Aidan Collins, St Gabriel, Hubertus

5th Grade

3rd place - Grace Parker, St. Gabriel, Hubertus

2nd place - Grant Rauls, Rio Elementary School, Rio

1st place - Shepherd Cook, Rio Elementary Schoo, Rio

6th Grade

3rd place - Alli Ruether, Our Saviors Lutheran, Wausau

2nd place - Ella Brei, Our Saviors Lutheran, Wausau

1st place - Greta Jensen, St Clement, Lancaster, WI

7th Grade

 $3^{\rm rd}$ place - Sylvia Ball, Lancaster Community School District Middle School, Lancaster

2nd place - Vivian Bernhardt, Lancaster Community School District Middle School, Lancaster

1st place - Brooklyn Bauer, Lancaster Community School District Middle School, Lancaster

8th Grade

3rd place - Emma Braaksma, Cambria Friesland Middle School, Cambria

2nd place - Cassidy Klebsch, St. Gabriel, Hubertus

1st place - Mackenzie Roland, Our Saviors Lutheran, Wausau

10th Grade

3rd place - Grace Seffrod, Monticello High School, Monticello

2nd place - Angela Cash, Monticello High School, Monticello

1st place - Evelyn Rickards, Notre Dame Academy, Green Bay

11th Grade

2nd place - Katelyn Eyler, Monticello High School, Monticello

1st place - Brayden Ryan, Monticello High School, Monticello

12th Grade

1st place - Emily Hintz, Waterford High School, Waterford

Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin Charitable Foundation 23rd Annual Fire Safety Newspapers in Education 2020 Teacher Essay Awards

1st Place

- Hailey Breidel, Wisconsin Rapids

2nd Place

- Heather Gayton, Adams

3rd Place

Maya Kasch, Milwaukee

4th Place

Teri Eberhardy, Wausau

5th Place

- Deanna Giovingo, Lake Geneva

6th Place

Jolene Slater, Argyle

7th Place

- Tammy Black & Lori Bongert, Rio

8th Place

- Terry Debink, Sheboygan Falls

9th Place

- Meagon Shields, Wonewoc

10th Place

- Shari Higgins, Mukwonago

Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin Charitable Foundation 2020 Fire Safety Recognition Luncheon Awards

Media Award

- Bill Walsh, CBS 58

Dan Genegler Fire Sprinkler Advocacy Award

- Kenny Asselin, West Bend F. D.

Corporate Responsibility Award

- Adams Outdoor Advertising

Bosanko Brothers Support Award

- WI Fire & Iron Motorcycle Clubs

Joe Vorce Career Fire Safety Award

- Vernon Green, Neenah-Menasha Fire Rescue

Larry Ceretto Fire Safety Education Award

- Allenton Fire Department

Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin Charitable Foundation Summer Camp for Burn Injured Youth 2020 Staff Milestone Awards

5 Years of Service

- Ryan "Hero" Hintz
- Samantha Blaylock
- Brittney Schwantes

10 Years of Service

- Brian Bieganski
- Robert Aschenbrener

15 Years of Service

- Kevin McDonald
- Christine Covert